1. MSMG

    MSMG MDL Developer

    Jul 15, 2011
    6,414
    15,608
    210
    I do use a Power Shell script to copy the registry file to a temporary folder and rename the registry hives to match the ToolKit image registry mount paths and then import the registry to the image.

    The Power Shell script file is in Bin folder and the command used to call the script

    Code:
    PowerShell -Executionpolicy Bypass -File "ConvertReg.ps1" "Registry_Folder" "Temp_Folder"
    
    This will copy all the registry files present in the Registry_Folder to Temp_Folder and replace the registry hives in each registry files to match the ToolKit image registry mount paths.

    Then use the normal reg import command to import each registry files.


     
  2. ffs_

    ffs_ MDL Junior Member

    Sep 17, 2016
    74
    39
    0
    Please also check this:
    Code:
    Juniper-VpnPlugin-Package
    Microsoft-Hyper-V-ClientEdition-Package
    Microsoft-Windows-Store-Client-Package
    Microsoft-Windows-SystemRestore-Package
    Microsoft-Windows-FileManager-Package
    Microsoft-Windows-ParentalControls-Package
    Removal of these components doesn't work in ToolKit v9.8 and v9.9. I've used Windows 8.1 Enterprise x64 Update 3 official ISO from MSDN. Doesn't matter if I remove components before or after updates (through WHD menu) integration.
     
  3. ceo54

    ceo54 MDL Addicted

    Aug 13, 2015
    886
    385
    30
    What works ???
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. ceo54

    ceo54 MDL Addicted

    Aug 13, 2015
    886
    385
    30
    Thank you MSMG, I will be keeping an eye on the progress, I have a pending project for 8.1.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. sergey130270

    sergey130270 MDL Senior Member

    May 15, 2014
    276
    298
    10
    #15025 sergey130270, May 3, 2020
    Last edited: May 3, 2020
    Hooray !!!!!!!! Many thanks !!!!!! Everything worked out !!!!!! You are smart.
    All reg files were imported except one,
    one reg file is not imported:
    :
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\TK_NTUSER\Keyboard Layout]
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\TK_NTUSER\Keyboard Layout\Preload]
    "1"="00000409"
    "2"="00000419"
    "3"="00000422"
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\TK_NTUSER\Keyboard Layout\ShowToast]
    "Show"=dword:00000001
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\TK_NTUSER\Keyboard Layout\Substitutes]
    "00000422"="00020422"
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\TK_NTUSER\Keyboard Layout\Toggle]
    "Language Hotkey"="2"
    "Hotkey"="2"
     
  6. ffs_

    ffs_ MDL Junior Member

    Sep 17, 2016
    74
    39
    0
    #15026 ffs_, May 3, 2020
    Last edited: May 3, 2020
    Removal of the component on your screenshot, obviously?

    In ToolKit v9.8 & 9.9 you can remove these components:
    Code:
    Adobe-Flash-For-Windows-Package
    Microsoft-Windows-Camera-Package
    Checkpoint-VpnPlugin-Package
    F5-VpnPlugin-Package
    SonicWALL-VpnPlugin-Package
    Microsoft-Windows-Shell-HomeGroup-Package
    Microsoft-Hyper-V-Server-Drivers-Package
    Microsoft-Hyper-V-Guest-Integration-Drivers-Package
    Microsoft-Hyper-V-Common-Drivers-Package
    Microsoft-Windows-InternetExplorer-Optional-Package
    Microsoft-Windows-Embedded-EmbeddedLockdown-Package-TopLevel
    Microsoft-Windows-MediaPlayer-Package
    Microsoft-Windows-PhotoBasicPackage
    Microsoft-Windows-SearchEngine-Client-Package
    Also some components didn't exist so can't say anything about them:
    Code:
    Microsoft-Windows-BiometricFramework-Package
    Microsoft-Hyper-V-ServerEdition-Package
    Microsoft-Hyper-V-Clustering-Vmclusex-package
    Microsoft-Windows-SearchEngine-Server-Package
     
  7. ceo54

    ceo54 MDL Addicted

    Aug 13, 2015
    886
    385
    30
    Thank you for clearing it out. Yes normally toolkit does that but some new update is causing the error upon deletion of some components, Camera Package, Windows Defender, Some VPN plugins etc. And even if you don't remove those said packages, sysprep fails in any condition.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. f0rce

    f0rce MDL Novice

    Jul 3, 2016
    14
    0
    0
    Hello MSMG and thank you for the great program.

    I'm learning how to use this program and I've downloaded the latest windows 10 ISO. When I check the build version on the ISO with dism it shows the 1903 build version. But when I use your tool with the same ISO it states the correct build that I expect it to have. Do you know why this is happening?

    Also is it better to integrate the updates instead of updating the OS post install?
    I was thinking of updating post install just to make sure the updates was in the correct order. I've read that it's important that the servicing stack updates was installed first.

    And last question , it's only the boot.wim and the install.wim files that's edited with this program right? And do I need to convert the install.wim back to ESD format before making USB?

    Thanks
     
  9. ffs_

    ffs_ MDL Junior Member

    Sep 17, 2016
    74
    39
    0
    Tbh I'm not sure this is because of updates since I've tried untouched ISO (didn't integrate any updates/drivers/features) and still got a error while removing some components.
     
  10. Igor147

    Igor147 MDL Member

    Oct 20, 2016
    144
    67
    10
    How does this item work? Does cleaning happen after installing Windows?
    2020-05-03_013234.png
     
  11. 正义羊

    正义羊 MDL Senior Member

    Feb 21, 2016
    258
    152
    10
    @MSMG ,In Toolkit v9.9 .cmd file line 11200,the text is:
    Microsoft Office Desktop ^(UWP^) Apps Pack folder ^<Packs\%OfficeUWP^> is empty...
    it missing "%",so it should be:
    Microsoft Office Desktop ^(UWP^) Apps Pack folder ^<Packs\%OfficeUWP%^> is empty...
    This is an issue that appear in all old version & current version of Toolkit.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. 正义羊

    正义羊 MDL Senior Member

    Feb 21, 2016
    258
    152
    10
    @MSMG ,For the app & compnents integrade & remove of Toolkit,app or compnents name have localization name in each country & region,follow is localized code from IntMetroApps of Toolkit:
    Code:
    if "%MetroApp%" equ "Alarms" call :AddProvisionedAppxPackage "%InstallMount%\%%i", "闹钟", %Alarms_Appx%, %Alarms_License%, "%DependencyPackages%"
    if "%MetroApp%" equ "Calculator" call :AddProvisionedAppxPackage "%InstallMount%\%%i", "计算器", %Calculator_Appx%, %Calculator_License%, "%DependencyPackages%"
    When I make these codes localization,these codes may change like:
    Code:
    if "%MetroApp%" equ "Alarms" call :AddProvisionedAppxPackage "%InstallMount%\%%i", "%app1%", %Alarms_Appx%, %Alarms_License%, "%DependencyPackages%"
    if "%MetroApp%" equ "Calculator" call :AddProvisionedAppxPackage "%InstallMount%\%%i", "%app2%", %Calculator_Appx%, %Calculator_License%, "%DependencyPackages%"
    In language file:
    set app1=闹钟
    set app2=计算器

    These aren't finally codes,only example.

    I know the Toolkit localized version,make too difficult.So if localization language file may make standalone is the best for localization.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. marioalpha

    marioalpha MDL Novice

    Apr 26, 2017
    31
    7
    0
    #15033 marioalpha, May 4, 2020
    Last edited: May 4, 2020
    I have read many of your posts and would also like to learn how to make registry changes.

    I can't understand how to use menu 5> 7 "Import Custom Registry Setting from Registry File"

    I created a test reg file like this:

    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\TK_NTUSER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]
    "test1"="c:\\windows\\notepad.exe"

    I saved the reg file in:
    C:\Temp\WIN10\Custom\Registry\w10\x64

    I ran start.cmd 5> 7 of the menu, I had no errors.

    To verify I loaded the ntuser.dat file
    reg load HKLM\TK_NTUSER C:\Temp\WIN10\Mount\Install\Users\Default\ntuser.dat

    Test modification was not carried, where am I wrong?
     
  14. ceo54

    ceo54 MDL Addicted

    Aug 13, 2015
    886
    385
    30
    If it's so then it's a good news. If the problem lies with the toolkit, @MSMG will sort it out. Let's hope it happens sooner.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. robymetallaro

    robymetallaro MDL Junior Member

    Aug 17, 2016
    72
    2
    0
    Windows 10 v1903/v1909 - Integrating or Installing Windows Updates after the component removal will restore the removed components and this is due to the recent change in Microsoft Update mechanism.
    Still not resolved this problem in the version of ToolKit_v9.9?
     
  16. MajkelP

    MajkelP MDL Junior Member

    Nov 11, 2015
    59
    26
    0
    According to the newest version ToolKit 9.9 Readme: the problem still persist.

    But I used this fix to stop restored \Windows\SystemApps from installing after Cumulative Update.

    https://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/msmg-toolkit.50572/page-656#post-1557984

    and:

    https://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/msmg-toolkit.50572/page-657#post-1558491
     
  17. MrChiliCheese

    MrChiliCheese MDL Novice

    Dec 15, 2017
    8
    1
    0
    I f**ked up big time - at least for me - because I deleted the RemovePkgsList.txt and RemoveAppsList.txt which took me hours to create

    Is there anyway that I can findout which Packages and Apps I removed from just the newly created iso or an installed Windows?
     
  18. Pansen

    Pansen MDL Novice

    Dec 2, 2010
    9
    2
    0
    Good evening MDL members,
    I'd also like to know what that option "DSIM Image Cleanup with Full ResetBase" does as previously asked...thx for the help!

     
  19. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    49,679
    103,530
    450
    /resetbase removes superseded components.
     
  20. Errorist

    Errorist MDL Novice

    May 8, 2016
    5
    0
    0
    @MSMG: It's a some time ago since it was last asked, but just out of my curiosity: are there any updates to share on the GUI version of your tool? You spoiled some video's about it a long time ago and it really looked promising.